1. Home
  2. Historical Fiction
  3. The Tattooist of Auschwitz : the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller
The Tattooist of Auschwitz : the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller

The Tattooist of Auschwitz : the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller

Number Of Pages: 288
publication Date:
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1785763644
4.37 Based on  reviews. 5.0 / (21,780 ratings by Goodreads)

Free signup required to download or reading online The Tattooist of Auschwitz : the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller book.

Description

The Tattooist of Auschwitz : the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller - For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. ----- 'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion 'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell

About Author

Born in New Zealand, Heather Morris lives and works in Melbourne, Australia. In 2003, she met Lale Sokolov, a meeting that changed both their lives. As their friendship grew, he entrusted her with the task of telling the world the innermost details of his life during the Holocaust.show more

Sorry, No review available